Checklist Task To Do from Pixabay

40 Reasons Not To Make a 40 List

Greg Prince
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

Ok, let me join the stew.

Going to stir the pot and ruffle a feather or two with a poke at the listicle fever growing around this number 40 in a variety of opinion brew.

I’d love to consent and be a real sweety, tell everyone “How Wonderful” but that doesn’t need repeating. So, if you’ll bear with me and give a joker a chance you might get a laugh or feel burning anger, heck you might burst out in a dance.

  • Primero I don’t like listicles, they drive me nuts. Most are filled with “Musts” and absolutes, however, I always come up with a ton of questioning “Buts?”
  • And don’t start me with checklists because they’re all about the same. I can remember to pick up the damn milk at the store, no need for the written note from mommy putting me to shame.
  • There will always be more than 40 things to discuss about any subject and no list will suffice, plus I’d rather write a paragraph or dance with talking mice(Cinderella cartoon ref).
  • I’ll bet you think I can’t make it to 40 things but a challenge this brings.
  • (I’m counting the last listing-so there!) Writing 40 things about a subject seems like an excuse to forgo writing about more serious topics yet I contradict myself and feel like a pon as this story goes on.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.