Man Portrait Human from Pixabay

Blistering Eyes and Ears of Racism

Greg Prince
2 min readJul 16, 2019

--

Unfortunate dividing sounds.

Stood there and listened.
Thoughts enraged and hurt.
Bigot’s words from the voice of oppression.
Would my reprimand be heard?

Teeth gnashing.
Eyes ablaze.
Furrowed brows.

Stuck in a daze at the conversation.
Fools do you hear yourselves?
Hypocrites spouting vile vitriol.
For only the ignorant and unwoke those sentiments are reserved.

Standing in a sea of shame.
In a pool of unwanted sight I can’t unsee.
Cornered and clustered in a world unfit for dreams.
Your words stung cutting deep.

Silent mulling.
Digging trenches.
Buried identity.
Still caring.

Not my place to change your who.
Saw a new shade of underneath you.
Worry wasn’t on my mind.
Found a new way to define.

Heard a man once say racism could only be against Black.
White the one always on the attack.
But, I was there when the meaning flipped and turned.
Felt my soul begin to burn.
Behind bars tongues get loose.
Had to decide to cower, be…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.