Dirt Boogers

Greg Prince
3 min readNov 1, 2018

Fun aspects from working multiple jobs and being busy as hell.

Image from Pixabay

“Well, you wake up in the morning. Aint no pork up in the pan. But you better not complain boy. You get in trouble with the man. Let the midnight special shine it’s light on me…,” (From Midnight Special by CCR)

I love that song and often sing it out loud when I’m doing lawn work. Nobody could possibly hear my caterwauling over the machinery I’m landscaping with. I’ve owned and operated a small landscaping business for almost 12 years.

Before I began to wear a covering over my face while working I had the distinct pleasure of breathing in tons of debris. I’m lucky to not have terrible allergies to pollen but when your nose is processing a pound of it a day there are bound to be complications.

Enter the dirt booger!

These pesky critters have no prejudice and no mercy. They lump and clump together in the most secret, sinister, darkness of nostrils. Composed of pollen, dirt, grass, mucus, and other icky things dirt boogers have a gruesome existence.

Imagine my disgust when I found a bug in one of these clusters just discharged from my nose. I had breathed in a tiny ant and it died in dirt booger, crusted mass.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.