Hard Roads Taken

Greg Prince
2 min readFeb 5, 2019

--

Plights very present and some hidden inside dark spirits.

Don’t have a way.
Don’t have a home.

Despise me.
Cuz you're better.

Revile me.
Cuz you have and I don’t.

Shame me for your loss.
Cover me in a hateful sweater.

Take away kindness.
Please don’t even look.
Avert your hopeful eye.
For mine is gone.

Lost in a war I never wanted.
Forgotten in a family couldn’t provide for.

My failure and desperation are your joke.

You pass me, flip me a dime.
But it only buys me more hurt.

Seek no more.
Where can I find exit?

Is there rest?
Is there an end?

Where is the winning open door?
Seek no more.

So I take a grocery store sink bath.

Take these shackles away.

Remove these stains.

Even comb my hair.
But, will I get a job?
Will anyone notice?

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.