Texas Rose Bellied Lizard from Pixabay

Dragons Of Our Own Creation

Greg Prince
3 min readJul 18, 2019

--

Reptilian consequences not anticipated.

Watching the transformation sent chills tingling and snapping up my spine. Lizards are so common and in abundance on my pool deck. But, the green and brown lizard I saw today basking in the hot sun on our lounge chair by the pool struck me as anything but regular.

I opened the middle blackout shade covering our sliding glass doors to get a look at the pool and backyard. Venturing out into the 105˚ Fahrenheit heat didn’t appeal to me at all. Having a pool is great but sometimes the sun is too much to bear.

Then the odd site captured my attention. It sat on the nylon slats of the lawn chair like any other lizard. Steam surrounded the small reptile.

Seeing it’s red throat rhythmically pulse in and out hypnotized my gaze.

My thoughts raced to see the steam, I thought must be vapor caused by the extreme heat and humidity of the day, turn dark like a tiny thunder cloud. The lizard suddenly burst into a small flame which then encrusted it such as a piece of meat being burnt and singed.

The sweltering warmth of the day and rays of the sun appeared to be frying the lizard.

However, I observed the reptile crust to grow. The skin around the lizard shook and boiled in several spots around the form. Less than 2…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.