Sunset Landscape Sky from Pixabay

Flicker Blues

Greg Prince
2 min readJun 12, 2019

--

A blues song and poem about getting through tough times.

Going way back home.
Going way back home to see my kin.

Don’t know how I’m gonna get there.
Don’t know how I’m gonna begin.

Been ah way down low.
Been ah way down in the trouble of my shame.

Got no one near me.
Got no one else to blame.

See your light.
See your light flicker.
Draw me in.

Warmth of your love.
Hold me close.
Can’t feel my sin.

We’re gonna ride up high.
Straight through the clouds.
And, be free again.

Come on baby,
Come on baby
Stay by my side.

We’re going home feelin’ good.
It ain’t no surprise.

Take me by the hand.
Help me understand.
We’re gonna make it through these troubled times.

We sing a new song.
No more wrong.
No matter how hard the climb.

Take it home now, take it home.
Summertime blues washin’ away to open fields.
Weeping skies clean our way in hard-fought truth.

Flash Thunderstorm from Pixabay

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.