Getting By — Happy, Hurt, Still Alive

Greg Prince
1 min readNov 15, 2018
Photo by Terry Tan De Hao on Unsplash

Woke up this morning
a million cares on my mind.
Didn’t want to get out of bed to face them,
desert my worries, neglect all those responsibilities,
leave them all behind.

Woke up anyway
a hundred tasks on my docket.
Face the day, get it done overcame in conspired thoughts
to tackle my concerns, give attention to the details,
do my duties, fill my quo.

Wasted no time
a thousand mornings will have passed.
Repeated actions pay the bills, can’t escape them yet;
leaving just yet not an option, takes my body fills with pain,
trying to change, make a new life.

Willing and doing
a hundred thousand moments into a blink.
Sweating blood a smile fills my heart to give,
to tiny faces imploring for direction, bless me with joy,
staring back at me, love given and known drive me to think.

Wanting for nothing else
to exist to be for them because they’re me.
Growing they’ll be more themselves, a vestige of me will remain
to share with all in the process, frees my spirit gives delight,
flying into chance, seeing and hoping is my savior
makes everything just alright.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.