Free quicksand GIF from Sagra free by GIFER

Getting Through Writing Quicksand

Greg Prince
3 min readJan 26, 2019

--

How to deal with priorities getting in the way of writing.

Feeling like a bit of a slump and a bit more like a hump today helped me kick some ass anyway.

Having trouble concentrating today but had a few great ideas to write about.

Composed sentences in my head for the ideas but couldn’t set myself to completing them in a story.

At least I wrote down my ideas. I like to type them into my Google Calendar and then expand on them later. But things got in the way of writing today.

After finishing my landscaping business for the day I returned home to deal with a few priorities.

The trappings of wasted moments poked at me like a sharp knife.

Our clothes washer wasn’t draining and consequently, the entire wash cycle had been compromised. This had to be fixed.

We are a family of four and the wash must be done. School uniforms, work clothes, and the regular culprits of dirty garments have to be kept in order.

I was tasked with the goal of fixing the washer today. Laundry day is Sunday and that must be upheld or all hell will break loose.

I am very thankful for YouTube video that guided me through the ordeal to clean out the…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.