Brain Circuit Board PNG from Pixabay

How Deep Is Your Addiction?

Greg Prince
2 min readMar 2, 2019

--

The wire buried in your brain.

Slipping into obtuse oblivion.
Thoughts hurt and swell without meaning.
I’m fed on a twisted twig dripping electronic honey.

Always on, where is my head at?

Is the reward so great?

How can I explain to my children in 20 years why my eyes didn’t find them more?

Will people talk to each other in twenty years?

What of my spouse? Who or what will replace the stolen years attending to a screen?

Shakespeare, what say you of this grand addiction? Where are thou bard of infinite wisdom to cure the ill of silicon compulsion?

The more personal here in this circuit netherworld, the more impersonal in the flesh.

Here I am feeling and present. There you are swallowed by a meme and lost in viral regurgitation. My skin itches with the rancid disgust of separation delivered by the dopamine siren sucking us in.

How can we resist? The world is in your pocket. Even those controlling the lines of code are but its nourishment and further enmeshed.

Twisted conduits spewing never-ending synapse destroying dependency.

Oh, but not me. That Pavlovian ding has no power over my being. A hearty laugh at your plea to…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.