Greg Prince
1 min readJul 14, 2019

--

Ignorance is bliss. So many freedom fighters have no idea what real freedom is. Do we have real freedom today? Did the 13th and 14th amendment really free anyone? Why is a person equivalent to chattel or business according to United States law? Has enslavement been masked by the conviction of millions for crimes committed due to the abysmal living situations perpetuated by the American way of life? Why must we be licensed by the State to do so many things a free person, sui juris, should have the unalienable right to according to our Constitution? Why do so many believe the Constitution or Bill of Rights is in place to grant us rights? The truth is these documents are there to recognize our rights and restrict the government's ability to infringe upon them.

Injustices done to every person of African heritage cannot be atoned for without a revolution in thinking and deeper examining of our laws.

I first became aware of Juneteenth behind bars 25 years ago. There, I began to see the hurt heaped black individuals. I came to loathe calling a person black. We shared the same space. My blood ran the same color red. We were humans. Not white, red, brown, black.

I’ve said too much. Will awakening ever happen? I hope so. Your words here are meaningful.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.