Biker Motorcycle Ride from Pixabay

Motorcycle Mishap

Greg Prince
2 min readJul 10, 2019

--

An alcoholic changed my life one night.

The sun won’t rise. My head is in a whirlwind but I can’t feel a thing. Nothing surrounds me yet breath lingers.

Riding along quiet in the whispering wind and happy for my friends. No cares but to share in their victory.

My friends have graduated and they’re moving on. Changing worlds for all of us. Different paths keyed to different songs.

Not looking for a handout.
Not wanting pity or a tear.
Doing things the way I see fit.
The road ahead not easy or clear.

Up ahead the road is nearly empty. My engine grumbles running fine. The purr taking me to the party, my helmet secure, down the yellow lines.

Don’t see him coming. Swerving in a daze. Across the lines, he turns his truck without a signal in a blaze.

No time to react. Drunken truck cuts my path. Gripping my brakes to stop his mistake his metal door halts my bike. Crossing my handlebars my head indents his truck with a vicious strike.

Smashed and crashed we wait. Paramedics fast to the scene. For a moment I pass the threshold but the EMTs are not too late.

In the gurney and to hospital beds. A coma takes my blasted head. Seventeen days are…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.