Orange Fruit Food from Pixabay

Mr. Crumb’s Supplementary Income Outcome

3 min readMay 11, 2019

--

Trial results may not have expected results or outcomes.

I didn’t expect these kinds of results at all. Joining the clinical research study seemed like the perfect way to supplement my income. I felt their warnings of possible side effects inconsequential. But, not now!

Six weeks have passed since the study. I ate genetically modified oranges. The meaty orange segments filled me up. The scientist called the orange’s insides Endocarp or some weird term like that. I just called them delicious.

The non-disclosure forms binding us to secrecy took too long to read so I flipped to the back of the booklet and signed the agreement.

I wonder why they had us sitting in isolated cubicles? Did other participants in the study eat oranges like me?

Eating the skin and pulp changed my fruit world. The taste was so full of sweetness and crisp tang. Flavor jumped up and down on my tongue like a wild kangaroo.

Normal supermarket oranges will never be the special treat they used to be.

--

--

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.