Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

Only Thing You Have To Do is Breathe

Greg Prince
4 min readDec 2, 2018

How to change your truth about essential living and what is really required in life.

I frequently hear, “You have to do this,” or “You have to do that.” Any statement like this is false because the fact is one doesn’t have to do anything except take in oxygen and exhale soon after. That is the truth.

Preposterous! Outrageous! How can I possibly make such a claim?

The initial premise here is a slight bit overstated because one must drink a little water and eat a tiny bit of food to sustain life. However, it is possible to go for some time without food or water and still live.

It’s high time if you haven’t thought about it, to get rid of absolutes in our thinking and speech.

“Have to…” is a bad phrase and I have made the mistake of saying something like that approximately a million times. For a few years, I have eliminated this phrase from my speech and it makes a huge difference in my thinking and perceptions of everything.

The underlying principle here is choice. Consequences due to the choices we make are the target for understanding the ‘Must’ or ‘Have to…’ and it is our awareness of the programming in our thinking needing to be examined.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.