Deadlift from Pixabay

Powerlifting Training Update #1

Greg Prince
4 min readMar 30, 2019

--

An ongoing view of my athletic pursuit.

I am training to compete in a powerlifting competition in about 5 months. Providing a look and insights into my training will be a fun and informative weekly open journal. (I’m 48 years old and will compete in the Masters age category)

You can find the prelude to this update here:

Conditioning

My body needs to be ready to handle heavy weights and brutal stress in order to perform max lifting efforts for competition. The squat, the bench press, and the deadlift are tested for maximum effort. Three attempts at each of the 3 lifts will be performed in front of judges and an audience.

Often, there are 50 to 100 lifters in a powerlifting competition falling into many different weight categories and divided by female or male designations. A contest may go on for 6 hours getting through all the equipment changes, introductions, and attempts.

(Although I have been at a contest that lasted 12 hours of grueling waiting and energy balancing madness.)

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.