Question of Matrimony

Greg Prince
7 min readDec 15, 2018

Unbound fidelity and the measure of dedication erasing doubt.

Sitting there in the glass booth my future, fears, triumphs, and dreams of a family gleamed and called to me with a with a golden beckoning shout. I barely had enough money to buy groceries this week so getting the rings was just a fantasy.

I had to find a way.

My girl Lizbeth hinted last week he needed things between us to, “Go somewhere,” implying marriage. He wasn’t going to just waste time on a relationship without, “Serious commitment.”

The way he gave me the underlying imperative and his attitude made me think he may need to be committed. But, I wasn’t about to get the straightjacket out yet.

My feelings for Lizbeth were strong but I don’t know if love was in my heart.

Definitely not in love.

Constraints of owning a business weigh heavy on a couple.

I own Guerilla Moves, a gym catering directly to the LGBTQ community. I advertise and promote at the fantastic nightclubs around Boystown in Chicago. My favorite haunt, Hydrate Nightclub Chicago!, sent me tons of gym members.

Boystown is a somewhat safe place we can be who we are.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.