Cockroach Pest Roach from Pixabay

Roach Outlook

2 min readApr 22, 2019

--

A bugs point of view in a short tale.

There they stand looking at me in horror. Hating me. Their fear and disgust are palpable. Laying here on my back might trick them.

They’ll think I’m dead.

One of them is coming near. Gargantuan, slow and clumsy male creature creeping up to me as if I will bite and kill with deadly venom.

All I am is guts, efficient organs, and desire to eat and reproduce.

Survival is key.

These eggs I’m carrying around in my abdomen are almost ready to hatch 30 nymphs. My babies will infest and be fruitful.

The large male is getting closer.

The 2000 lenses of my eyes produce incredible details of every movement near me. My sensory organs, antennae and tiny hairs, provide valuable feedback in smells and chemical detection. I am an efficient machine.

Raising its large leg to obviously stomp on me, the huge male is pathetic. With a roll to my side, I scamper off. My six strong legs carry me forward in a blur of speed.

--

--

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.