Raccoon Wildlife from Pixabay

Road Crossing

Greg Prince
2 min readMay 26, 2019

--

A raccoon’s last journey.

Moon catches my eye.
Glint and fever of raw wafting toward me.
i can’t deny.
Power in the scent.
Power in desire.
Crawling delicious snatches at my tongue.
Is it a lie?
Wild frenzy catches tickles along my spine.

Flashes zipping by, i sense death.
Where does my reason fly?
Along the crescent slice in the sky.

Monsters rushing, they block my way.
Get to my meal pulling me, the call so sly.
How to cross grumbling giants so fast and loud.
To make the journey, i must be proud.

Odor so attractive, am unable to resist.
My fur stands ready, alert.
Clean i my paws again and again.
Unnoticed in the darkness.
Courage building to beat the shiny wheels which spin.
Tender crawling rare aroma assaulting my every sniff.

Blending with the path ahead to cross.
My colors give me the edge.
Can’t be seen so i wait for my chance.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.