Road High

Greg Prince
1 min readNov 18, 2018
Photo by Mark Cruz on Unsplash

Death is all around me
watching from eyes buried in blurred
zagging laps behind suddenly stopping and
spreading bullets of addicted apathy.

I see you indignant and full of
pretended care while typing away
or giving your mind to a flashing
screen pulling your triggers
stronger than a shot of dope could ever do.

Drunk you persist, callous to the mortality and
danger you project. Even when questioned
or brought to recognize your fault you deny culpability and
continue your blind pursuit still not bothered till’
you cause mayhem.

Death follows me and peeks around every corner
all so you can enjoy a game or a chat, a snap, or a like
and you indifferent and growing like a petulant disease
engulfing the blacktop.

Death surrounds me.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.