Road To Happy

Greg Prince
2 min readNov 2, 2018
“woman in pink top and blue pants jumps on road” by Alexei Scutari on Unsplash

Got lost today, always on a journey.

Was a fog covered my eyes and drifted like a cloud covering my thoughts and the world drifted away.

Remembered a pureness as it washed, like a tide, in the inside of my stomach and chest bubbling with calmness and smiles in my forehead.

Saw my sister, long since gone, a beautiful memory filled with wishing she was here. Felt her quiet and honest goodness and some fear.

Fear that I did not honor her enough to learn from her simple love and the way she showed it to all.

I drove my truck. The music played on the radio. Traffic rolled. Automatic actions steered me to the next work account.

Grandpa’s face, his grin, the way he announced my name each time we met melted around my brain.

A trip of adoring coursed through my blood and shot screaming through my veins. Felt the ways his radiant blue eyes focused on me as a child and nothing but love and adoring touched me in his gaze.

Grandpa was a giant to me.

His presence in my life always a joy and fond time.

Looked at the movie playing on the screen of my mind. Found it to be a comfort and panacea erasing challenges those my wife and I are facing.

Seeing them as nothing more than a thing we can fix, bills we must meet, worries we will overcome, and uncertainties to unhitch.

Tried a smile and sang along, the radio played a familiar song.

The journey found me, brought me back, and so I’m on another path.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.