Sleepy Reflections

Greg Prince
2 min readOct 31, 2018

On a string, had a fling, a wild write just to end the night.

Time is creeping and I should be sleeping but this damn thing keeps on streaming.

By Lauren Kay on Unsplash

Can’t take my eyes off but I’m so torn; this wire in my brain keeps me fried.

Fills me with filthy lines of corrupt stuffing that I ought to burn.

Shoots me to worlds where I can learn and I want to learn but that’s never enough.

The end of the beginning filling my soul so that there’s nothing left, no sin that I must bear.

Rips my sight out and tells me what I can think; I’m going to break.

Taring my spirit and eating my inside. Where is my head?

So I can’t fit and say all the right words and who the hell cares because I’m just absurd.

A wonderland of indifference except the pace is so fast. Please take my hand and act like you give a crap.

Yet with all this, I can’t ever get enough. Go till I bleed and the even the light of the screen hurts my eyes, seems to rough.

I leave you with this that this is the cure, forgive me if I stray and hurt with this word: Be simple and yet complex to know we are just dirt, rich in purpose though we might hurt. Fill your pockets with love and fill your heart with the treasures of strength in taking the energy we deserve and share with all, fulfill, and bring worth.

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.