Parrot Ave Animals from Pixabay

The Unlikely Demise of a Feathered Friend

4 min readMay 3, 2019

--

Unexpected fortune and fame resulting from death and unjustified fear.

“You don’t want to do that,” said Bubby. I didn’t know what to think. Parrots talk but not in context and with authority.

“Bubby, what did you say?”

“Joe, I don’t want you to turn the air conditioning so low. My feathers are going to freeze.”

To say I was stunned is an understatement of grand proportions. Yes, my red-crowned amazon had previously copied words and small phrases I said but never a conversation.

“Have you been wanting to tell me about the temperature for a while now?” I asked to see if I was insane or the bird actually was composing thought-out sentences.

“Yes, Joe…squawkkkk…you always keep it so damn cold in here.”

I had to sit down. Bubby was preening herself. Had I just slipped into a new dimension?

My thoughts began swimming in a jumbled mix of next steps. I called
Channel 17 News. Bubby buried her beak in feathers and took a nap.

--

--

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.