Coach Bus Red from Pixabay

Unforgettable Impression

Greg Prince
4 min readJun 22, 2019

--

Fond recollections of youth and confusion.

Our youth group convention in Jacksonville began on a happy note. The huge tour bus taking us there swallowed us up like minnows in a huge aquarium. I heard my mom yelling, “Have a good time Greg!” and saw her waving as we pulled away.

Young teenagers adapt quickly. We sang songs, laughed, and teased each other.

The hour and a half drive might have been 10 minutes for all we cared. Our U.S.Y. (United Synagogue Youth) Ormond Beach chapter sat together in open seats at the middle of the bus.

“I’m leaving on a jet plane don’t know when I’ll be back again…” John Denver lyrics dominated our shared harmonizing. We did a few Hebrew songs and bad jokes or jibes filled the contained air.

A Jacksonville Denny’s Restuarant served as our drop off and meet up point with our host families. Arriving late in the afternoon left little time to get ready for Friday night services but we rushed to our assigned homes and got ready for the Sabbath night.

Somehow my folded dress shirt, tie, and slacks weren't wrinkled and the weekend convention kicked off nicely. My host family extended comfortable accommodations and exhibited warmth and kindness.

Sabbath services lasted an hour and a half then we returned to our host houses for…

--

--

Greg Prince

Bringing real feelings along with messages of inspiration and imagination to life. Awakening is the symptom of my infectious condition. Poetry is my condition.